4.—Duration and Sessions of Dominion Parli	aments, 1867-1935—concluded.
--	------------------------------

Order of Parliament.	Session.	Date of Opening.	Date of Prorogation.	Days of Session.	
14th Parliament	1st 2nd 3rd 4th	Mar. 8, 1922 Jan. 31, 1923 Feb. 28, 1924 Feb. 5, 1925	June 28, 1922 June 30, 1923 July 19, 1924 June 27, 1925	113 151 143 143	Dec. 6, 1921.3 Jan. 14, 1922.4 Sept. 5, 1925.5 J. y., 7 m., 26 d.6
15th Parliament	1st	Jan. 7, 1926	July 2, 1926	1771	Oct. 29, 1925.3 Dec. 7, 1925.4 July 2, 1926.5 1208 d. 6
16th Parliament	1st 2nd 3rd 4th	Dec. 9, 1926 Jan. 26, 1928 Feb. 7, 1929 Feb. 20, 1930	April 14, 1927 June 11, 1928 June 14, 1929 May 30, 1930	73 ² 138 128 100	Sept. 14, 1926.3 Nov. 2, 1926.4 May 30, 1930.5 3 y., 7 m., 0 d.6
17th Parliament	1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th	Sept. 8, 1930 Mar. 12, 1931 Feb. 4, 1932 Oct. 6, 1932 Jan. 25, 1934 Jan. 17, 1935	Sept. 22, 1930 Aug. 3, 1931 May 26, 1932 May 27, 1933 July 3, 1934	15 145 113 169 ³ 160	July 28, 1930.3 Aug. 18, 1930.4

¹ Including days (13) of adjournment from Mar. 3 to Mar. 15. ² Not including days (54) of adjournment from Dec. 15 to Feb. 8. ³ Period of general elections. ⁴ Writs returnable. ⁵ Dissolution of Parliament. ⁶ Duration of Parliament in years, months and days. The life of a Parliament is counted from the date of return of election writs to the date of dissolution, both days inclusive. ⁷ The ordinary legal limit of duration for each Parliament is five years. ⁸ Not including days (65) of adjournment from Nov. 25 to Jan. 30.

A brief résumé of the history of parliamentary representation follows. Attention may be drawn to the growth in the number of members of both the Senate and the House of Commons since Confederation and to the greatly increased unit of representation in the Lower House.

Subsection 3.—The Senate.

The British North America Act, 1867, provides in Sections 21 and 22 that "the Senate shall consist of seventy-two members, who shall be styled Senators. In relation to the constitution of the Senate, Canada shall be deemed to consist of three divisions—(1) Ontario; (2) Quebec; (3) The Maritime Provinces, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick; which three divisions shall be equally represented in the Senate as follows: Ontario by twenty-four senators; Quebec by twenty-four senators; and the Maritime Provinces by twenty-four senators, twelve thereof representing New Brunswick and twelve thereof representing Nova Scotia. of Quebec, each of the twenty-four senators representing the province shall be appointed for one of the electoral divisions of Lower Canada, specified in Schedule A to Chapter I of the Consolidated Statutes of Canada". Further, under Section 147 of the same Act, it is provided that "in case of the admission to Confederation of Newfoundland or Prince Edward Island, . . . each shall be entitled to a representation in the Senate of four members". "Prince Edward Island, when admitted, shall be deemed to be comprised in the third of the three divisions into which Canada is divided by this Act" and on its admission "the representation of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick shall, as vacancies occur, be reduced from twelve to ten members respectively". In case of the admission of Newfoundland, the normal membership of the Senate of 72 members was to be increased to 76, while the maximum number of 78 (Sec. 28) was to be 82, Sec. 26 containing a provision for the appointment of three or six additional members in certain cases, to represent equally the three divisions of Canada.